July 17, 2008

Sometimes you need to unplug…

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , , , , at 1:57 pm by charlesshyblosky

When I need to unplug from my life that is so consumed with Media, i try to get out of my cave, and venture into nature.  I call it, my “wild at heart” trips.  Whether walking, running, Kayaking, hiking, canoeing, backpacking, or even camping, sometimes you just need to get away, unplug, to listen and reflect.  How do YOU unplug, and where do you go to do so? 

This is where i retreated yesterday, Couchville Lake, Long Hunter State Park….2 mile loop….

And he [the Lord] said, Go forth, and stand upon the mount before the Lord. And, behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind rent the mountains, and brake in pieces the rocks before the Lord; but the Lord was not in the wind: and after the wind and earthquake; but the Lord was not in the earthquake:
And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.

— I Kings 19: 11-12 (KJV)
3 Comments »

  1. Tim Irwin said,

    Chuck,

    Everywhere I’ve pastored we’ve had our getaway place. In Maryland it was Gettysburg PA, just 50 miles away; in SW PA it was Ohiopyle (native American for “falling water,” and right now it’s Cook Forest. In fact the picture on my blog post today has nothing to do with the post, but it’s from a 4-mile hike Janelle and I took yesterday. Isn’t it good to get away?

    And BTW, Ben (now 16) caught his first fish in Couchville Lake the day we brought our younger son Will (almost 13) home from Baptist Hospital. I’ve taken that 2-mile loop a few times myself.

    Blessings.

  2. Aaron said,

    I have too many options in the NW as you may know but getting away to anywhere no matter where it is very important! I just need to get out more!

  3. LOL, hey Aaron, Good luck with that…….Yes, very true. One word on where to get out when in sw Washington…………..GORGE

    TIM,
    Cook Forest, been there, bought the tshirt…nice place, but when I was there last, it had about a foot of snow on the ground….one word for that place too,………solitude…….


Leave a Reply

